TIDEWATER COMMUNITY COLLEGE BOARD

August 10, 2017 4:00 p.m. Big Otter Room, 3rd Floor Student Center Chesapeake Campus

TERRI N. THOMPSON, CHAIR PRESIDING

WORK SESSION

AGENDA

- 1. Welcome and Call Meeting to Order (4.00 p.m.)
- 2. Discuss Purpose of Work Session (30 min.)
 - a. Discuss Proposed 2017-18 College Board Working Priorities (Attached)
 - b. Adopt 2017-18 College Board Working Priorities—As Discussed (Attached, for Action)
- 3. **2017-18 Committee Assignments** *(5 min.)*
 - a. Review 2017-18 Standing Committees (Attached)
- 4. Highlight Contents of Information Packet (5 min.)
 - a. 2017-18 Meeting Schedule Revised
 - b. 2017-18 Board Membership
- 5. President's Report (10 min.)
 - a. Administrative Reorganization
 - b. SACSCOC Accreditation Results
 - c. College Convocation
- 6. Chair's Report & Announcements (5 min.)
- 7. Adjournment

TIDEWATER COMMUNITY COLLEGE BOARD Proposed 2017-18 WORKING PRIORITIES

- 1. Invite a local school division twice per year to a board meeting to share their vision for higher education and how the community college fits into their plans.
- Support the TCC Educational Foundation in the Major Gifts Campaign as champions for the cause. Through your connections and personal giving, help to build the TCC network of individuals and businesses with philanthropic aspirations toward TCC's interests. Continue Board Member philanthropic engagement in support of contributions to the Educational Foundation.
- 3. Support the VCCS's commitment to *Complete 2021*, "to lead the Commonwealth in the education of its people by tripling the number of credentials awarded for economic vitality and individual prosperity," the larger strategic direction for Virginia's Community Colleges.
- 4. Support the College's heightened focus on student success and the Institutional Priorities of the College's 2013-2018 Strategic Plan.

TIDEWATER COMMUNITY COLLEGE BOARD 2017-18 STANDING COMMITTEES

Executive Committee

Terri N. Thompson, Board Chair

John M. Murray - Board Vice Chair

James (Jay) N. Lucado, Chair - Finance & Facilities Committee

Dwight M. Parker, Chair - Curriculum & Student Development Committee

Linda D. Ridenour, Chair - Advocacy Committee

Edna V. Baehre-Kolovani, President (ex officio)

Susan M. James, Special Assistant to the President & Chief of Staff (board liaison & staff support)

Finance & Facilities Committee

James (Jay) N. Lucado, Chair

John D. Padgett

Paulette D. Franklin-Jenkins

Delceno C. Miles

Terri N. Thompson, Board Chair (ex officio)

Edna V. Baehre-Kolovani, President (ex officio)

Phyllis F. Milloy, Vice President for Finance (staff liaison)

Matthew J. Baumgarten, Executive Director for Real Estate Foundation & COO of Facilities & Public Safety (staff liaison)

Curriculum & Student Development Committee

Dwight M. Parker, Chair

Connie A. Meyer

John M. Murray

Lynn B. Clements

Terri N. Thompson, Board Chair (ex officio)

Edna V. Baehre-Kolovani, President (ex officio)

Daniel T. DeMarte, Executive Vice President for Academic & Student Affairs (staff liaison)

Corey L. McCray, Vice President for Workforce Solutions (staff liaison)

Advocacy Committee

Linda D. Ridenour, Chair

Cynthia (Cindy) S. Free

Jerome A. Bynum

Terri N. Thompson, Board Chair (ex officio)

Edna V. Baehre-Kolovani, President (ex officio)

James P. Toscano, Vice President for Institutional Advancement (staff liaison)

Educational and Real Estate Foundation Board Representatives

Terri N. Thompson, TCCEF & John D. Padgett, TCCREF