

Student Success Committee Meeting Norfolk Campus, Martin Building, 2610 October 7, 2014 1:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Members in attendance:

Marilyn Hodge, Virginia Beach—Chair Emily Hartman, Virginia Beach—Student Activities Michele Barnes, Virginia Beach—Student Services Cecelia Johnson, Norfolk—Faculty Nora Marlow, Norfolk—Library Tiffanye Sledge—Portsmouth, Faculty Raenell King—Chesapeake—Student Representative Ted Tyler—Portsmouth—Counselor (via phone) Michele Barnes—Virginia Beach—Counselor (via Facetime)

Members absent: Marc Wingette, Chesapeake—Faculty Annette Mewborn, Virginia Beach—Library Frank Dixon, Virginia Beach—Student Holly Estrada, Chesapeake—Student Services

- i. Call to order The meeting was called to order at 1:53 p.m.
 ii. Minutes approval
 - Minutes were reviewed and approved.
- iii. Introduction of New Committee Members
 The Chair welcomed new committee member, Raenell King, Student Representative from the Chesapeake Campus to the committee.
- Fall 2014 Schedule discussion
 The following meetings were proposed moving forward to attempt to accommodate the larger group:

Thursday, November 6, 2014 OR Tuesday, November 11 from 1:30 p.m. to 4 p.m., Chesapeake Campus (Little Otter Room A, Student Center requested)

Tuesday, December 2, 2014 from 1:30 p.m. to 4 p.m., Portsmouth Campus (E122, Student Center requested)

v. Old Business

The Chair briefly provided an update of the document from the previous meeting.

vi. New Business

The committee discussed the task at hand for the fall 2014 semester which includes completing the faculty mentoring proposal. Substantive work on this was accomplished.

vii. Action plan for next meeting:

It was determined that there were questions needing to be posed to the larger group. In order to expedite this process, the Secretary will send out the listing of questions to the group, gain feedback from the group and report back at the November meeting.

viii. Continue to work on the document. Target date for completion is the end of the fall 2014 semester.

Respectfully submitted by: Emily Hartman Committee Secretary